Frequently Asked Questions
What is a Mandatory Alcohol Server Training Course?
The Washington State liquor law requires anyone who serves or manages on-premises liquor licensed establishments to complete Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) and obtain either Class 12 or Class 13 permits. ASC's Mandatory Alcohol Server Training course allows Washington alcohol servers to obtain a Class 12/13 (depending on age) Permit.
How do I know what class of permit I need?
You are required to have one of the following permits:
Class 12 Mixologist Permit are for people 21 years of age and older.
This permit allows you to:
- Draw alcohol from tap and mix drinks
- Perform duties included in the Class 13 permit
- Manage the establishment
- Conduct alcohol tasting
Class 13 Servers Permit are for people 18 years of age and older.
This permit allows you to:
- Take Alcohol orders
- Carry alcohol to the customer and pour it into a customer's glass at the table
My permit has expired, what do I need to do to renew it?
To renew your permit, you must take a WSLCB certified Mandatory Alcohol Server Training course. To comply with Washington State liquor law, we suggest you take ASC's online MAST class prior to your permit expiring.
How long is the MAST program?
The course is a state-required minimum of 3 hours.
Is the ASC's MAST course completely online?
Yes. The registration, course and final exam are all entirely online.
How do I sign-up?
Select the register now button and answer a few short questions on our online registration form. This allows us to process your completion to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board. Once you submit payment you can go straight to beginning the course!
Do I have to complete the course in one sitting?
No, you may take the course at your own pace. The system will save your progress each time you log off.
How do I get my permit?
Upon successful completion of this course, American Safety Council will report your course completion to the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board and mail your permit within 10 business days to the address you entered when you registered for the course.
How long do I have to complete the course?
There is no overall time limit to complete the course.
Do MAST permits expire?
Yes. Permits are good for five years and expire on the first day of the month after the month you took your test. If you took your test August 24, your permit will expire on September 1.
Why do I need to supply my Social Security Number?
RCW 26.23.150 requires that the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board obtain a Social Security Number for each MAST permit holder. This is to assist with child support enforcement as required by federal law. As a provider, we are authorized by State law to obtain Social Security Numbers from permit holders.
What if I don't have a Social Security Number?
If you do not have a Social Security Number due to your residency status, you must write a reason why you did not supply your Social Security Number. When you obtain your Social Security Number you can either provide it to us or the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board.
Is there any other workplace training available?
The American Safety Council also offers OSHA training online at our website www.usfosha.com.
Online MAST Course Benefits
- Receive Your Class 12 or Class 13 Permit
- 24/7 Customer Support
- Log On and Off as Needed
- Free Automatic Completion Reporting
- Money-Back Guarantee!